While road transport is harmonised within the EU and is therefore based on common EU rules, road transport between EU and third countries remains largely based on bilateral agreements between different Member States and third countries. However, the EU has agreements with some countries that prevail over bilateral agreements. The agreement provides for a harmonized legal framework to facilitate the movement of people between these countries. The EC/Switzerland land transport agreement applies to the transport of goods and passengers by road and rail. It came into force on 1 July 2002 and aims to fully liberalise access to transport markets for contracting parties. In the road transport sector, EC and Swiss carriers are already free to carry transport between a Member State and Switzerland and vice versa. Almost half of the total road transport between the EU and third countries is done with Switzerland. As part of the agreement, Switzerland has also lifted its weight limits for heavy goods vehicles: since January 2005, the maximum weight allowed in Switzerland is 40 tonnes (the same as in the EU). In addition, the agreement provided for the introduction of the Swiss road charge for heavy vehicles. With regard to rail, Switzerland has committed to liberalising its rail market by implementing European railway liberalisation packages. AETR – International travel to third countries or through the countries listed below is governed by the rules of the AETR and applies to the whole trip, including in all countries of the Community.

In case of travel by a non-EU country that is not subject to the AETR agreement (for example. B Iceland), the rules on the country`s driving hours must be respected. With regard to passenger transport, the INTERBUS agreement includes occasional links between the EU and Ukraine, Turkey, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Macedonia, Montenegro and Moldova. In December 2014, the Council gave the Commission a mandate to negotiate the extension of the scope of the agreement to regular services and to find ways for Morocco to become a member of your business. Both agreements provide for the application of the road transport acquis in the countries concerned. Council Regulation (EC) 561/2006, which came into force in April 2007, replaced the old EU Working Time Regulation. The AETR rules were aligned with the Council`s Regulation (EC) (EC) and came into force on 20 September 2010. Since September 2010, the AETR rules have been amended to comply with EU Regulation 561/2006. The introduction of the digital tachograph, which monitors the driving and rest times of professional drivers operating on the international market in accordance with the AETR and relevant EU regulations, became mandatory for EU Member States in June 2006 and will become mandatory for non-EU contracting parties on 16 June 2010, after a transitional period of four years.

Despite all the efforts and clear progress made in implementing the digital tachograph, some parties are not prepared to fully implement it on time. At an extraordinary meeting of the EEC-UN Working Group on Road Transport (SC.1), held in Geneva on 22-23 April 2010, the parties to the European Convention on Vehicle Crew Activities in the International Transport Sector (AETR) have reached a six-month tolerance period for the implementation of the digital tachograph at the pan-European level, which will end on 31 December 2010.